rti9

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Disappointing Anime-Related Visiting Spots in Tokyo

with one comment

While walking around the Japanese metropolis, I was eager to do some anime-related sightseeing. Studios were on my mind, but I remembered EX articles about them and how they aren’t really designed for people to stop by. Animation studios in Japan will usually be very busy offices with decentralized areas scattered throughout a building (maybe a neighborhood). Therefore I had to consult the internet to search for other spots to visit. One of the websites I used as reference was att.Japan. In the end, I felt that I should have read Patrick Macias’ book, Crusing the Anime City: An Otaku Guide to Neo-Tokyo.

suginamiThe picture above was taken at the Suginami Animation Museum souvenir shop. The idea of wiping your ass with toilet paper that has Black Jack imprinted on it really expresses my feelings toward this place: it’s depressing. Located in a place distant from the usual tourist spots, I left feeling that it was a waste of my time and money. Their floor guide shows how small the place is. Videos of old shows are displayed in old TVs and videos of interview with staff members right nearby. I kept thinking I could have looked all that up on the net. There is a workshop where you can trace an available drawing, an exhibition room with a tiny display that periodically changes (Magical Fairy Persia when I went there), a small library of books, vhs tapes, and DVDs which you can view in the room, and a theater where I watched a stop-motion animation with two other visitors. Extremely unexciting. All in all, I wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone, not even the hard-core fans.

Also hard to reach, the Toei Animation Gallery proved to be an even less worthy visiting spot. You’re only allowed to see two rooms filled with old posters, sketches/cels of old shows, and a big Mazinger figure. Just that. Despite liking the old posters, I couldn’t help but think how mediocre the Toei Gallery is. Not even big Toei fans should go there. In fact, they would be the ones who would be disappointed the most. Pictures of the rest of the posters: pic 2, pic 3, pic 4, and pic 5.

I have no pictures of the Tokyo Anime Center since I didn’t find anything memorable there to take photos of. It’s just a room with lots of pamphlets, a few big models, and a shop. At least it’s located at Akihabara, so you didn’t waste your ticket fare.

Written by rti9

January 2, 2010 at 8:14 am

Posted in anime, japan

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] deux coups, afin de voir de mes propres yeux ce musée dont j’entends parler plus souvent en mal qu’en bien sur […]


Leave a Reply

